100% Residencia (1910-2010). La Residencia.  A legacy recovered
  • presentation
  • exhibition
  • 100% residencia digital
  • in images
  • quotations
  • activities
  • site


Between 1910 and 1936 nine laboratories in different scientific fields were established at the Residencia.  They are conceived as a complement to university education and their empirical lessons that were then rare in Spanish universities, allowing students to learn through experimental and scientific research.

In addition to their training role, these laboratories soon became centers of front-line research, as they were led by some of the best Spanish scientists of the time, such as Pío del Río-Hortega, Juan Negrín, Gonzalo Rodríguez Lafora, Luis Calandre, Paulino Suárez, and Antonio Madinaveitia.

Among the young scientists who were trained and worked in these laboratories were some of the most important Spanish researchers, such as the future Nobel Prize winner Severo Ochoa, internationally recognized for his contributions to biochemistry and molecular biology, and physician Francisco Grande Covián, founder of the Sociedad, Española de Nutrición (Spanish Society of Nutrition).

Residencia de Estudiantes, Madrid. Paulino Suárez, director of the Bacteriology Laboratory with residents of the third year of Medicine, 1926-1927 academic year. Madrid. Laboratory of Bacteriology at the la Residencia de Estudiantes


  • Laboratory of General Chemistry. Founded in the academic year of 1912-1913 and directed by José Sureda and Julio Blanco. Ceased its activity in 1936..
  • Laboratory of Physiological Chemistry. Created in 1916, directed by Antonio Madinaveitia. Lasted until 1926.
  • Laboratory of Biochemistry. Opened during the academic year of 1922-1923, directed by Juan López Suárez.
  • Laboratory of Physiology and Anatomy of the Nerve Centers. Began in the academic year of 1916-1917, directed by Gonzalo Rodríguez Lafora. Lasted only until 1918.
  • Laboratory of General Physiology. Founded in the academic year of 1916-1917, directed by Juan Negrin. Severo Ochoa worked there.
  • Microscopic Anatomy Laboratory. Created in the academic year of 1916-1917, Luis Calandre was director until 1936. Severo Ochoa, Francisco Grande Covián, and Enrique López Vázquez were trained there.
  • Laboratory of Histopathology of the Nervous System. Established in 1920 and led by Pío del Río-Hortega.
  • Laboratory of Serology and Bacteriology. Created in 1920 and directed by Paul Smith until 1936.
  • Laboratory of Normal and Pathological Histology. Founded in the academic year of 1928-1929, Pío del Río-Hortega was director until 1936.


  • Louise Foster Laboratory of Chemistry. Founded in the academic year of 1920-1921 by Mary Louise Foster, whose name it adopted in the academic year of 1927-1928, closed in 1936.
 español | english | français

Residencia de Estudiantes, 2010  |  nota legal  |  contacto  |  cerrar ventana